Stop Pretending That Your Job Doesn’t Matter

Courtesy of Cartoonstock.com

Your job is important.  Even if you hate it.  Besides paying your bills, it is where you are right now.  When starting anything new, you start where you are.  So where are you?

I used to work with someone who was alway miserable.  No matter what happened, she would never crack a smile.  I didn’t understand it.  It drove me crazy.  I’d say ‘Good Morning!’  She’d say, ‘Is it?”  Finally, I had to ask her:  What’s your deal???

Boy was I sorry I asked!  LOL!  (No really.  Thirty minutes later I still didn’t understand.)  BUT, I did learn an important lesson.  Life is too short!  Be happy where you are because tomorrow isn’t promised.  I know that’s cliché but hear me out.  Even if you are ready for a total life change, your opportunity might be staring you in the face at this very moment!  What if you are being observed at work for a promotion?  What if a client is looking to bring someone in-house?  Nobody wants a grouch!  Most importantly, life is not a waiting game.  Waiting gets you nowhere fast.

Years ago I worked with a very nice woman.  Let’s call her Jane.  Jane had been working at her company for twenty plus years.  She was three years away from retirement.  She wanted to move, she wanted to travel, she wanted to live!  But, all she did was wait for retirement.  As the time passed, she became more and more cranky.  She was never happy.  Not always miserable but totally complacent.  Even on her days off, she simply waited to start the life she truly wanted.  On one particularly cold and windy night, while she was coming home from the job that she was waiting to retire from, the wind took her breath away.  Literally.  The air was so cold that it made her lungs tighten and made it difficult to breath.  She died.  True story.

I think about Jane from time to time. I wonder what she would have done had she made it to retirement.  What life would she have started?  What would she have done had she stopped to realize that she can make her life anything she wants it to be?

So I ask you, what are you waiting to do?  Can you start where you are right now?  I think you can!  So tell me.  Where are you right now and where do you want to be?  I’d love to hear from you.

3 responses to “Stop Pretending That Your Job Doesn’t Matter

  1. wow.. was this an eye opener. i love it and know that you have changed my life for the better.

    thank you so much for just keeping it real.
    love you and keep up the great work. i love reading your blogs.

  2. I agree that life is too short.

    With that said, I go through life knowing that the past is over, the future never comes, so all we have is NOW.

    So, each day, I try to live my life to the fullest.

    Because happiness is not a state of being, it is a choice.

Leave a Reply

