Persistence is Key

When the weather warms up it is so easy to get distracted.  Even without the lure of the warm sun and fun outdoor activities, very often life gets in the way of staying focused.  One person who is extremely focused, and has a phenomenal personal brand is Will Smith.  I love Will Smith.  This blog is a super friend of Will Smith and his entire family.  If you don’t like Will Smith and his super fabulous wife Jada Pinket Smith, this is not the blog for you.  In June, BrandMaker News posted an article detailing five things that Will Smith has said allowed him to accomplish his goals.   For the full article, go here.  The shortened version of the list is:

  1. Decide who you’re gonna to be.
  2. Create your own possibilities.
  3. Make lemonade out of life’s lemons.
  4. Don’t be outworked.
  5. Stay ready.

Last year, Will Smith had an interview with Tavis Smiley.  He not only elaborates on the five tips above, but he talks about how his success was built.

Out of the five tips Mr. Smith mentions, “Stay Ready” sticks out the most.  Which of these tips speak to you?  Do you have any tips to add?

2 responses to “Persistence is Key

  1. I like “Make lemonade out of lemons.”

    There are a lot of haters in the world for one reason or another. With that said, as a writer, I had an editor, once, tell me, that I wasn’t good at writing short stories. So I probably would never be published, and that I should try something else. The statement only added fuel to my fire. I could have believed the editor and gave up on writing short-stories, but instead, I found ways to prove the editor wrong because I learned that no one is going to care about your craft more than you. So, it’s your job to care about whatever it is you want to succeed in for a chance at being victorious.

    Needless to say, through hard work and believing in myself, I have had short-stories published, and I am in the process of writing a short-story collection. Ha! LOL.

    • I always find it interesting that people in a given field try to discourage other people in that same field. Fear maybe? Trying to stop the competition perhaps? I’m glad that you didn’t listen to that publisher’s foolishness. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

