The Personal Brands of Black Women on Television

One of the reasons I started this blog was because I was looking for examples of minority women succeeding in corporate america.  When I didn’t find these examples in one place, I thought I could create that source.  Perhaps other people would be helped.  We can learn from any woman of any nationality.  However, it does help to be able to refer to people who have had similar experiences as you.

Photo courtesy of eonline.com

When I read the interview Star Jones gave to AOL’s Black Voices, I was so happy that she gave an intellectual and dignified response to Nene Leakes’ comments about her.  Celebrity Apprentice is for entertainment, and the proceeds go to charity.  The money raised does not go the celebrities on the show.   Star Jones is not just a television personality and an entertainer, but she is also a lawyer.  She has navigated the corporate ladder.

That being said, I was so utterly disappointed to see that the show hadn’t even aired yet and already, there was a cat fight.  I was actually saddened.  In response to Nene’s comments that she “wouldn’t spit on Star Jones if she were on fire,” Star Jones has finally issued a response.

“I would hope, as she becomes more exposed to a variety of professional situations, she will tone down the vitriolic emotional reactions and learn to express herself in manner that is more reflective of the majority of black women in America.”

Photo courtesy of eonline.com

My sentiments exactly.  All black women don’t behave like Nene Leakes.  All black women don’t behave like the majority of women on television today.  There are phenomenal women of all nationalities who are handling themselves like class acts daily while achieving their professional goals.  Where are these people on television?  Why don’t they have a place to be profiled and celebrated?  Well, this blog is a start.

Perhaps I am overreacting?  Perhaps, there is more to be seen and I should watch the entire season of Celebrity Apprentice before I make a final conclusion.  I realize that the purpose of all television shows is to get ratings.  If everyone sat around and played nice, people wouldn’t watch television.  I understand that.  However, there has got to be a point where women demand that we are represented better on television.  The below video makes a total mockery of Nene and her purpose and I was embarrassed.  Am I overreacting?  Tell me what you think.

2 responses to “The Personal Brands of Black Women on Television

  1. I agree, I am appauled by Big Bad Black Nene, even and especially if it were “just for show” Aren’t Black women stereotyped enough. I am pleased Star Jones stayed true to herself and didn’t respond in like manner.

  2. You are not overreacting at all. The constant portrayal and acceptance of loud, rude, mean women is becoming the norm. It’s celebrated and encouraged at every level. Women are being kicked off of shows for being too nice and deemed boring. What’s unfortunate is that the everyday woman is taking this behavior to heart.

    P.S. Starr Jones’ response was perfect…

Leave a Reply

