Listen to the Whispers

Last month, Oprah Winfrey said goodbye to her famous television show after a groundbreaking 25 years.  I recently watched an episode of Oprah Winfrey’s Master Class and learned quite a bit about the media maven.  

In this episode, Oprah told her life story.  She described being taken away from her grandmother with no explanation and never seeing her again.  At this time she was forced to live with a woman her mother worked for.  This woman did not like Oprah because she was dark-skinned and would not let her come into the house.  What did six-year-old Oprah have to do at this time?  Sleep on the porch at night.   A six-year-old sleeping on a porch…. Ugh…  This spoke to me in such a profound way because it illustrates that where you start is no indication of where you will end.

Oprah then goes on to describe her journey and how she became the woman she is today.  Throughout the years, she would hear little “whispers” that would tell her what to do.  Some would call those whispers intuition, others might call it a higher power.  Regardless, most people have heard a little voice tell them where to go or what to do at some time or another.

Lately, that little voice has been telling me that I need to make changes to this blog.  I wrote some drafts that I never posted because they felt… well… a mess.  My topics are all over the place and I’m not sure if I’m getting a clear message across.  This is something that I need to change.  So… I really need your help here.  I need you to comment on old and new posts alike and tell me if you like them or not and why.  Don’t worry about hurting my feelings.

I will be making some tweaks here and there to this blog.  I think I need to move this blog into a more specific direction.  While I work on that, I’d like to hear from you.  Are you listening to the “whispers” in your head?  Are they pointing you in a particular direction?  If so, what are they telling you?

One response to “Listen to the Whispers

  1. I just finished reading your blog post. As one of your avid readers, I enjoy reading about “Branding Sweets.” In other words, amazing women and their brands, which is exactly what your blog is about. With that said, the day I read one of your posts, and it was about a cleaning product, I was completely thrown off. So, my suggestion is stick to what you are most passionate in writing about, “Branding Sweets.” Moreover, there are so many approaches you can take, when talking about the brands of women. A female entrepreneur is a “brand.” A female poet is a brand. An educated woman is a brand, etc. It’s all in the way that you view a person to be as a brand. Those are examples that you can further explore in your blog. Along with posting your usual interviews, and featuring successful corporate women, which you have done in the past. Moreover, I really liked when you posted words of wisdom. It was inspiring. We all can use uplifting words to get through the day. I hope I have been some assistance to you.

    ~ Nyki (via text message)

Leave a Reply

